Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Beemer2 » Fri Mar 24, 2023 3:08 pm

Here is the error message when I post a group REQ: message. It was only a text sentence and without any file or url ref.
[03/24 17:21:47] ERROR FileAssemblerThread - Attempting to open file to scan for dataFileAssemblerThread - Unable to open Existing file to scan for data
[03/24 18:02:17] ERROR FileAssemblerThread - Attempting to open file to scan for dataFileAssemblerThread - Unable to open Existing file to scan for data
[03/24 18:02:18] ERROR FileAssemblerThread - Attempting to open file to scan for dataFileAssemblerThread - Unable to open Existing file to scan for data
Version 6.90 build 5524
Beemer2
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/05/10

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 24, 2023 9:57 pm

What version are you using?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44895
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Beemer2 » Sat Mar 25, 2023 1:39 pm

Version and build was on the last line of my post. It is version 6.9 build 5524
Beemer2
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/05/10

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Beemer2 » Sat Mar 25, 2023 1:46 pm

Just tried again with a new REQ: message. Immediately get 'Incomplete.Missing information needed for download'.
Beemer2
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/05/10

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Quade » Sat Mar 25, 2023 7:29 pm

I'd try the latest beta. It's here in the forum.

I just did a "Post to Group" from the right click menu in the groups tab. I entered some text and the post was sent. I downloaded headers from the group and I see the post.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44895
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Beemer2 » Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:27 am

I did as you recommended and now have the latest beta installed. Tried posting a REQ: test message again and got the same error message 'Incomplete. Missing information for download'. I never had a problem like this and have made many REQ: posts over the years.
I have just made a new REQ: post in a different group and get the same error message. Why does NB think there should be something to download?
Beemer2
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/05/10

Re: Cannot post a REQ: get error message

Postby Quade » Mon Mar 27, 2023 10:46 am

Are all the fields filled out?

It doesn't need to be real information but it needs to be there, Like the user and domain.

How are you posting, right click the group and "Post to Group" or replying to a post with "Reply to Group" from a post list?

You have to pick an active server too. Not all servers permit posting. Some server require that you activate posting in their control panel. You could enable "Show Server Commands" in the network options and see if you see posting specific errors.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44895
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 2 guests