Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

General NewsBin and Usenet related discussions. Make recommendations for additional specific discussion groups.

Moderators: Quade, dexter

Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:56 pm

Can't use Newbin Pro anymore.Immediately when starting Newsbin Pro my mouse gets frozen or disappeared for about five minutes or longer.With grabit no problems at all.Always liked Newsbin pro very much for many years.Now it's a complete disaster.Operating system: Windows 10 pro
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:00 pm

When the downloads start immediately these problems occur
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby SuperTech » Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:18 am

It sounds like your security software sucks. I use ESET security and have zero problems using Newsbin Pro, NewsHosting's USENET client, Sonaar and SABnzbd.
SuperTech
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 6:42 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/24/04

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:56 am

I'm using Norton internet security(paid license) And have also tried free trials of Eset and Kaspersky without success.No control over the mouse after starting Newsbin Pro.Only when i removed all the antivirus software i can control the cursor of the mouse when using Newsbin pro.In the firewall of the antivirus security software i also excluded Newsbin Pro. I've done also a complete new windows installation without success.Changing ports(SSL) also doesn't make any difference.Trying another Logitech Mouse also no difference.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:24 am

Tell me more about your PC. What version of Newsbin are you using? My gut feeling is that this isn't an security software issue but I'm not sure what it is yet.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:28 pm

I've used the latest beta and yet the 6.81 final.Memory test(during 5 hours) says everything is ok.Als bought a new ssd disk.

Operating System Windows 10 Pro
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Formula
Processor Intel Core I7 3960X
Graphics:NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 6GB + Desktop Screen Dell U2410
Ram 16,0GB DDR3 @ 667MHz
Storage : Samsung SSD 860 PRO 1 TB+ Seagate ST3000DM001-9YN166 2794 GB
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:00 pm

How fast are your downloads? I'd probably make sure "show server commands" isn't enabled in the network options and I'd try setting the logging to the lowest level. My feeling is that your mouse issue might be related to high speed downloads and Newsbin trying to display too much in the logging tab.

How many connections are you using?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:19 pm

650 mb/s glass fiber connection.SSl connection in Newsbin Pro
show server command was already not enabled

connections used variated 20 till 50.Also tried less.

How can i set the logging to the lowest levels.Is this the confirmation windows tab? They are all disabled now.But the problem continued.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:41 pm

It's in the advanced options, near the bottom.

You're not doing this through remote desktop are you?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Thu Dec 12, 2019 11:08 am

Remote desktop is off.Log tab is also disabled but didn't changed anything.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Thu Dec 12, 2019 11:52 am

Today downloaded with Grabit without any issues 50 gb .No mouse blocking at all at that time.With Newsbin pro the problems immediately came back.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Thu Dec 12, 2019 6:12 pm

I just don't know at this point. Plenty of people are using it, downloading as fast or faster as you are without reporting any mouse issues.

Have you done anything with Newsbin's shortcut like maybe putting it in compatibility more or make windows scale the display? I think your issue is going to end up being something weird like display scaling or something like that. Does the mouse only not work for Newsbin but work for other applications while Newsbin is running?

It might be worth experimenting with removing the logitech special mouse features so the mouse uses just the native windows drivers and see if that makes a difference.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:11 am

No when running Newsbin Pro browsing the internet is not possible.That makes it all very frustrated! Ï've do nothing as windows scaling or something.The problems with newsbin started approximately at the same time as the changing from windows 8.1 to windows 10 pro pro.Today or tomorrow i will receive a new Logitech mouse and keyboard.Maybe that will do the job.Thanks for your support and patience Quade.I'm using Newsbin Pro for almost eighteen years nowv with a lot of pleasure so it will be sad to say Newsbin Pro goodbye.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:03 pm

Today or tomorrow i will receive a new Logitech mouse and keyboard.Maybe that will do the job.


I just don't think it has anything to do with the mouse or keyboard. Do you have another PC you can test it on?

Completely removing the security package then rebooting so you're just using the microsoft security software is worth trying. So remove, reboot, try some test downloads, then re-install the security package and see where it starts to fail.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Fri Dec 13, 2019 9:24 pm

As said before when removing all the Norton,Eset en Kaspersky antivirus software I can use Newsbin Pro with no problems.I don't have other computers.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:41 pm

Seriously thinking of giving up Newsbin Pro now to my regrets.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:38 pm

Then the solution might be that you need to make them completely ignore Newsbin. Ignore the connections Newsbin uses to the servers and ignore the disk IO. I'm not sure how to make that happen though.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Sat Dec 14, 2019 6:31 pm

The Norton assistent(computer online help on distance)had done that before.No succes at all.What's ignore the disk IO?
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:56 pm

Something about your security software works so hard when Newsbin is downloading at a fast speed, it causes the mouse to stop responding.

Most security software monitors network traffic and things being written to disk. The security software you're running is trying to monitor your downloads and probably the network traffic. If your download wasn't so fast, it probably wouldn't be a problem but the combination of really fast download speed and the software trying to check everything is what's causing your problem.

So I'm suggesting you try to get your security software to completely ignore Newsbin.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:12 am

With Grabit(Fastusenet) i don't have any issues at all with even more speed then 650mbs.So what's make the difference in that perspective?
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:14 pm

So it's a shortcoming Of Newsbin Pro?
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby Quade » Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:24 pm

There's no way for me to know. Some combination of software, we know it's the security software you're running, combined with Newsbin causes you problems. I only use the Microsoft security software so there's no way for me to even attempt to trouble-shoot it. The only thing that really puzzles me is that you're the only person reporting this. Numerous people download as fast or faster than you without this problem.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43809
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Internet Security blocks still newsbin pro

Postby the viking » Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:57 am

Can remember that severel years ago had the same problems with Newsbin Pro.After excluding Newsbin Pro in the av software everything works fine.Did the same now again without success.Maybe they have changed now something in the anti virus software(a lot of in and outcoming traffic is blocked) or in the Microsoft Windows 10 pro version is something implented that blocked.
the viking
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:26 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests