There are no headers

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

There are no headers

Postby pjcamp » Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:06 pm

Been true for a couple of months now. I'm using some PreHeaderDB filters, but they are on specific spammers and haven't changed in a couple of years.

I tried the procedure on this page

http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V673-FilterDownloads

regarding processor backlogs. The cache was sitting at 126 in parentheses. Afterward, it was 200/200 (1) and that one would not clear even after sitting for three hours. And still no headers in any group I tried.

It has me baffled. Windows 10 on Ryzen 7 1700, NewsBin version 6.73: 00 D5 30 ED 20 41

Ideas appreciated!
pjcamp
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:58 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/25/07

Re: There are no headers

Postby Quade » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:34 am

Well, first thing I'd do is disable the header download filters then right click a group "Post Storage/Use Download Age" then try downloading headers.

The fact you see header block counts go up and down suggests your filters are filtering everything out.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43829
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: There are no headers

Postby pjcamp » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:00 pm

Quade wrote:Well, first thing I'd do is disable the header download filters then right click a group "Post Storage/Use Download Age" then try downloading headers.

The fact you see header block counts go up and down suggests your filters are filtering everything out.


So when I see 200/200 (1), does that mean one filter is still processing? Is the number in parentheses the number of unprocessed filters? That would suggest that one in particular is hanging it up and adding them back one at a time would track it down.
pjcamp
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:58 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/25/07

Re: There are no headers

Postby Quade » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:33 pm

Headers are downloaded and save in blocks onto the disk. The number in parens is the number of header blocks waiting to process. It has nothing to do with filter count.

In the options, you can select "Open Data Folder" then look in the "Import" folder. See if you see any stuck header blocks.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43829
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests