Slow network performance with Newsbin 5.42/Fedora 10 i386

While it isn't officially supported, we have many users who successfully run NewsBin under Linux with a Windows emulator (Wine is the most popular). This forum exists for you Linux guys to share your experience getting NewsBin running on Linux as well as report any strangeness that we may or may not be able to fix. DThor is the resident expert.

Moderators: Quade, dexter, newsraider, DThor

Slow network performance with Newsbin 5.42/Fedora 10 i386

Postby markb » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:02 pm

Oddly enough header download speeds are limited to about 1.5Kbps. My internet connection is 5 Mbps down. Firewall is turned off as is SELinux.

I installed Newsbin on my XP64 box and it works. Takes off and downloads at 5Mbps on headers or posts so it's not a firewall issue as both the XP and Fedora box are behind the same firewall.

I installed Fedora 10 x86_64 and i386 and the same problem occurs. I also tried VirtualBox and still have the same slow download speed (1.5Kbps). File downloads from Firefox range anywhere from 100KBps to 300KBps or higher, depending upon the source server. So I don't think its a NIC/broadband problem as other apps beside Newsbin on Fedora 10 perform as expected.

Wine version is 1.12. I also followed the howto post and the dlls are in the right place in the .wine folder. Any ideas?
markb
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/29/04

Postby markb » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:44 pm

I made some progress. It's not network specific. The problem is related to the NewsBin.nbi file.

I was troubleshooting by starting Newsbin with a blank newsbin.nbi file. Download speeds now work fine. The problem now move to how do I move the data in the old nbi file to a new one? I don't know what is corrupt in the old nbi file and regenerating the new nbi file by retyping everything? no thanks. I have over a 100 groups and all the history info that goes with them. I really dont want to lose that.
markb
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/29/04

Postby Quade » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:50 pm

Sounds to me like you had the bandwidth limiter set or that the server configuration was just wrong. I'd probably go back to the old NBI. Delete the server and re-add it again. Normally speeds of 1.5 kbps means connection failure.

Did you look in the status tab?

Maybe your current data folder is different?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43037
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Postby markb » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:16 pm

The bw limiter wasnt set. Server config could be wrong. Status tab didnt show errors just data being transmitted. Same data folder. Odd
markb
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/29/04

Postby markb » Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:20 pm

I checked the data folder location when everything was working. It was under my home directory under .wine.
When I point to a different internal drive, speed drops off. The drive is mounted using ntfs-3g as read write. Hmm i am using a modified fstab from another Fedora box that is working fine. If permissions were disallowing write, then nothing should happen at all.
markb
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/29/04

Postby markb » Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:04 pm

The problem wasn't file permissions either. I changed the pertinent directories for owner and group to my user account and still got the 1-1.5k header download speeds.

I tried starting with a blank spool with the data directory on a local NTFS drive. Now headers are being written to the local drive at max speed (> 5Mbps).

Oddly enough the same spool worked fine with a Windows 2003 Server install. Now I'll have to spend time to get the spool populated but at least it is working as expected.
markb
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/29/04

Postby Quade » Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:08 pm

Or you could...copy the spool files from the old folder to the new...
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43037
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron