Newsbin success!

While it isn't officially supported, we have many users who successfully run NewsBin under Linux with a Windows emulator (Wine is the most popular). This forum exists for you Linux guys to share your experience getting NewsBin running on Linux as well as report any strangeness that we may or may not be able to fix. DThor is the resident expert.

Moderators: Quade, dexter, newsraider, DThor

Newsbin success!

Postby nailzer » Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:18 pm

This is day 2 of using Ubuntu 6.10 and Wine 0.9.30. Newsbin is the first program I've tried to install in wine. Everything works except "The Message Of The Day". I have to click the x to get rid of it. Newsbin seems to save my configuration, except for my screen layout. It is back to original each time i start the program. I have no problem with starting with the Gnome GUI. So far I'm happy with the transition to Linux.

I refuse to upgrade to Vista.

Edit: I almost forgot the Newsbin version is 5.33 Build 7737
User avatar
nailzer
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 7:01 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/03

Postby Quade » Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:13 am

That's good to hear. Got someone trying to use crossover office posting here today who isn't so lucky. I could never get it working on my Linux box.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43251
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Postby newsraider » Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:23 pm

did you install the gecko engine? i am also using ubuntu 6.10 with 5.33 and am able to see the message of the day after downloading the gecko engine. although i would like to just turn it off like in 5.32.
User avatar
newsraider
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/13/06

Postby Quade » Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:51 pm

Advanced tab.

At the moment, I'm Microsoft's bitch. Don't have any linux boxes here at the house. It just works, which is all I can ask of my PC. I wiped the file server and installer Media Center to feed video to my 360
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43251
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Postby newsraider » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:35 pm

have you tried anything like vmware before?

http://www.vmware.com/products/free_virtualization.html

works great and doesn't mess with your system.
User avatar
newsraider
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/13/06


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest